Date & Time: 
Fri, 11/16/2018 - 12:00pm
Debjyoti Banerjee
Texas A&M University

Discovery Park D212


We are developing nanotechnology enabled platiorms for enhancing cooling, sensing, energy storage and efficacy of safety systems (involving both experimental and computational studies). Coupling of thermal and hydrodynamic transport during phase change (boiling, condensation) causes spatio-temporal fluctuations of temperature at the micro/nano-scales, which are termed as “cold-spots” and can transmit over 60-90% of the total heat transfer. Using Carbon-Nanotube (CNT) nanocoatings - cooling was enhanced by 60~300% by leveraging cold-spots and the “nano-fin” effect (enhanced surface area). Using silicon nanofins - cooling was enhanced by ~120%. Nano-thermocouples and diode temperature nano-sensors integrated with the nanocoatings enabled the study of chaos/ fractal structures in boiling.


Dr. Banerjee received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from UCLA (with minor in MEMS). He received 3 M.S. degrees and was invited to 4 national honor societies. He attended the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur for his Bachelor of Technology (Honors). Prior to TAMU, Dr. Banerjee worked as a Manager of Advanced Research & Technology (ART) group at Applied Biosystems Inc. (ABI), CA, (currently merged into Life Technologies). Previously in a singular capacity, he developed from concept to a commercial product at NanoInk Inc. (called “InkWells™”, which are microfluidic platforms used for bio/nano-lithography of proteins, nucleic acids, etc.). Dr. Banerjee received 14 US patents, from his work at ABI, Ciphergen Biosystems, NanoInk, Coventor Inc. and TAMU. He received the “Amlan Sen Best Mechanical Engineering Student Award (Endowment)” at the graduation convocation at IIT and the “J.C. Bose National Science Talent Scholarship” from the Govt. of India. He received the “Morris Foster Fellowship (2007-2008)” from Mechanical Engineering Department; L.T. Jordan Career Development Professor, “Dean's Excellence Award (2018)” and the “TEES Select Young Faculty Fellowship (2008-2009)” from the D. Look College of Engineering; and was designated as a Faculty Fellow at the Mary Kay O'Connor Process Safety Center at TAMU. He received the “2001 Best Journal Paper Award” from the ASME Heat Transfer Division (HTD), the “New Investigator Award (2005)” from the Texas Space Grants Consortium (TSGC), “3M Non-Tenured Faculty” award ('09-'12), the “ASEE/ AFOSR Summer Faculty Fellowship ('06, '07)” at AFRL, the “ASEE/ ONR Summer Faculty Fellowship ('09)” at SPAWAR and elected Fellow of the ASME in 02/2016. He has chaired/ co-chaired thesis of 13 Ph.D. and 18 M.S. students.


Mechanical Engineering