Murali Varanasi

Electrical Engineering
Founding Department Chair
Murali Varanasi
Areas of Expertise:
  • Sensors

Faculty Info


Varanasi received his B.S. degree in Physics from Andhra University and his B.S. degree in Electronics Engineering from Madras Institute of Technology, India in 1957 and 1962 respectively. After working for six years as a senior scientific officer at the Defense Research and Development Laboratory in Hyderabad, India, he pursued his graduate education at the University of Maryland, College Park, Md where he received his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering. His research interests include digital communications and coding theory, fault tolerant computing, digital systems design, wireless sensor networks and VLSI design

Varanasi served as an Assistant Professor at Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Va from 1973 to 1980 before he joined the faculty of the computer science and engineering department at the University of South Florida where he is a Professor Emeritus. He currently serves as Professor and Chair of the Electrical Engineering department at the University of North Texas.

Varanasi is a member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and the Association for Computing Machinery. He served as vice-president for Educational Activities of the IEEE Computer Society, and the society's Chapter Activities. He is a memebr of the ABET board of directors.

Among his numerous honors, Varanasi received the University of South Florida’s Professorial Excellence Award, Distinguished Service Award and the Outstanding educator award from the Florida Engineering Society. He has received several awards from the IEEE Computer Society including the Outstanding Contribution Award for Leadership and Contributions to the Model Program in Computer Science and Engineering in 1985 and Golden Core recognition. Varanasi is elected as a fellow of IEEE for his contributions to Coding for computer fault tolerance and leadership in computer Science and engineering education. Varanasi is a recipient of the IEEE Third Millennium Medal.

  • Digital Communications and Coding Theory
  • Fault Tolerant Computing
  • Digital Systems Design and Computer Architecture
  • VLSI Design
Professional Experience
  • Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE)
  • Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
  • Computer Society of India
  • Eta Kappa Nu and Sigma Xi
Honors and Awards
  • Andhra Pradesh State Government Scholarship, 1955 - 57
  • National Merit Scholarship, 1959 - 62
  • Ranked 10th in the National Electronic Engineering Examination, 1962
  • Old Dominion University Summer Faculty Fellowship, 1976
  • NEC Schmidt Scholar, 1977
  • IEEE Computer Society Outstanding Contribution Award for Leadership and Contributions to the Model Program in Computer Science and Engineering, 1985
  • IEEE Computer Society Meritorious Service Award for contributions to chapters and student activities, 1988
  • Outstanding Service to the Profession Award, Florida Engineering Society, Aug. 1991
  • Meritorious Service Award for Service as Editor of Computer Society Press, 1994
  • Fellow of IEEE, for contributions to Coding for Fault Tolerance and Leadership in Computer Science and Engineering Education, 1995
  • Certificate of Appreciation for Service on Fellow Evaluation Committee, IEEE Computer Society, 1996,1997
  • Certificate of Appreciation for service as Chair of Distinguished Visitors Program, IEEE
  • Computer Society, 1997
  • Certificate of Appreciation for dedicated and sustained contributions to Computer Science Accreditation, Educational Activities Board, IEEE Computer Society, 1998
  • Professorial Excellence Award, University of South Florida, 1998
  • IEEE Third Millenium Medal, 2000
  • Distinguished Service Award, University of South Florida, 2004
  • Richard Merwin Distinguished Service Award, IEEE Computer Society, 2004