UNT professor chairs IEEE ICCE 2018, receives best paper award

College of Engineering

UNT College of Engineering Professor Saraju Mohanty is currently the editor-in-chief of the IEEE Consumer Electronics Magazine, and served as the general/conference chair for 36th IEEE International Conference on Consumer Electronics (ICCE 2018) held Jan. 12-14, 2018, in Las Vegas.

Mohanty conferring award to Linus Torvalds
ICCE 2018 Conference Chair and EiC Consumer Electronics Magazine Saraju Mohanty, and IEEE President James A. Jefferies Conferring Ibuka Award to Linus Torvalds.

Mohanty, along with IEEE President James A. Jefferies, presented Linus Torvalds with the 2018 IEEE Ibuka Award for his leadership in the development and proliferation of Linux.

Mohanty and UNT co-authors, Uma Choppali and Elias Kougianos, received IEEE Consumer Electronics Magazine 2016 Best Paper Award for the paper titled “Everything you wanted to know about smart cities: The Internet of things is the backbone” in July 2016. The article received 55 citations within a year IEEE Xplore shows more than 6,000 downloads.

Mohanty also participated in two different panels at CES/ICCE 2018: the first on smart electronics for healthcare and the second on energy and security tradeoffs in CE systems.

Mohanty also guest-edited a special issue titled "Circuit and System Design Automation for Internet of Things" for IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems (TCAD) in January 2018.

In December 2017, Mohanty delivered two keynotes:

  1. Internet of Things (IoT) - Demystified at the 16th International Conference on Information Technology (ICIT), 2017.
  2. Smart Cities - Demystified at the Man and Machine Interface Conference (MAMI), 2017.

About ICCE

ICCE is the flagship Conference of IEEE CE Society, which is co-located with International Consumer Electronics Show (CES) as its research/education component. CES is the world's largest CE show with 3,800 exhibiting companies, 300 conference sessions and more than 165,000 attendees from 150 countries.

Instagram icon
Youtube icon
LinkedIn icon
Discord icon