Three Engineering Faculty Members Named Distinguished Research Professors

Two Engineering department chairs and a professor were named UNT’s 2013 Distinguished Research Professors.

This prestigious award recognizes tenured faculty at the rank of professor who have achieved a truly exceptional record of creative activities or research productivity and demonstrate a record of continued extraordinary productivity. The three faculty members -- Drs. Narendra Dahotre, Yong Tao, and Francis D’Souza -- are among only 11 faculty members at UNT to hold the title of Distinguished Research Professor.

Dahotre, a professor of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, has devoted his educational and professional career to developing laser-based surface engineering for advanced materials. He has made pioneering contributions to understanding and engineering laser-materials interactions and implementation of high power lasers for materials processing and surface engineering.  He is internationally known for his work on fundamentals and applications of laser surface engineering of metals, ceramics, polymers and composites.  He has published and edited more than 200 technical papers, books and book chapters in his career. He also holds 15 patents and research funding as principal and co-principal investigator totals more than $6 million.

Tao is the chair of the Department of Mechanical and Energy Engineering, director of the PACCAR Technology Institute and PACCAR Professor of Engineering. He is an internationally known researcher in fundamentals of thermal sciences, refrigeration system performance, and renewable energy applications in buildings. Tao has more than 20 years of research and 17 years of teaching experience. Tao has produced more than 154 journal publications, book chapters, edited journals and proceedings. In addition, he holds two patents and has received more than $12.2 million of research funding from various industries. He also serves as associate editor of Journal of Science and Engineering Applications and reviewer for several international journals in his research field. Since joining UNT, Tao has received more than $2.1M external research funding.

D’Souza, who has joint appointments in Chemistry and Materials Science and Engineering, is an expert in electrochemistry, supramolecular and nanomaterials, optoelectronics, and chemical sensor technology. Since 2005, he has received grants totaling $1.4 million from the National Science Foundation and the American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund. He is a co-editor of Handbook of Carbon Nanomaterials and associate editor of the Journal of the Electrochemical Society, Electrochemical and Solid State Letters and the Journal of Porphyrins and Phthalocyanines. He is also a fellow of the Electrochemical Society.

Latest News

UNT Computer Engineering Professor Named Tech Titans Award Finalist

Ram Dantu, computer engineering professor, has been named a finalist for...

UNT Partners with Chinese University to Offer Materials Science and Engineering Transfer Program

The University of North Texas College of Engineering has partnered...

UNT College of Engineering Professor Wins Prestigious Science Award

College of Engineering assistant professor Diana Berman has earned the...