MEE News

Monday, September 21, 2015 - 2:15pm

Dr. Zhao is a new assistant professor joining the Department of Mechanical and Energy Engineering at University of North Texas. Before, she was working as a postdoctoral appointee in the Energy Systems Division at Argonne National Laboratory in Illinois for two years. She obtained her Ph.D. degree in Mechanical Engineering at Lehigh University.

Tuesday, June 23, 2015 - 3:35pm

A diverse group of six MEE students are in China learning green buildings and renewable energy at Tongji University, American House in Beijing.


On a weekend day, they were on the Great Wall showing their UNT pride.


Wednesday, May 20, 2015 - 1:23pm

Congratulations to MEEN Outstanding Student Award recipients!  A ceremony was held at the Mechanical and Energy Engineering department prior to Commencement on Friday, May 15, 2015 to honor those students who were chosen as outstanding in the following categores:

Outstanding Undergraduate Student:
Richard Roberts and Chris Vorgert

Outstanding Graduate Student:
Ramesh Shrestha and Jiwon Mun

Outstanding Teaching Assistant:
MD Sallah Uddin


Wednesday, May 6, 2015 - 8:45am

Design Team AD ASTRA placed 2nd top overall team at the NASA Texas Space Grant Consortium Design Challenge for their design project, Novel Air Revitalization Approach.

Rudy Nagasimha (Team Leader)
Andrew Carr
Jordan Essman
Lawson Faris
Sarah Hagerman
Ahmad Shabbar

Faculty Advisor is Dr. Kyle Horne, Assistant Professor, Mechanical and Energy Engineering
Mentored by Joe Chambliss, NASA JSC

Monday, April 27, 2015 - 3:10pm

Dr. Xun Yu, Associate Professor of Mechanical and Energy Engineering, has been elected a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), a distinction awarded to ASME members who made significant engineering research and education achievements. Dr. Yu is recognized for his contributions in the areas of nanotechnology based smart materials & smart structures including self-sensing composites and concrete, transparent thin film sensors and actuators, and the control of those dynamical systems.

Monday, April 27, 2015 - 12:31pm

The Mechanical and Energy Engineering Bike Helmet team has been selected as one of the top three winners from the North American Region (USA and Canada) in the 2015 International Student Safety Technology Design Competition. As a result, the team has been invited to the final global competition in Sweden in June 2015!  The team consists of MEE students Travis Beamon, Holly Gage, Celena Lipscomb, Leannah Nichols, and faculty advisor Dr. Xun Yu.

Monday, April 13, 2015 - 1:58pm

Dr. Nandika D'Souza, a Professor of the Department of Mechanical and Energy Engineering, has been named a UNT Regents Professor, a designation for faculty at the rank of professor who have performed outstanding teaching, research and service to the profession, and who have achieved a high level of national and international recognition. D’Souza is an Associate Chair for Research and Graduate Affairs.

Thursday, January 22, 2015 (All day)

Alyssa Sylvester, a Senior at University of North Texas majoring in Mathematics and Mechanical and Energy Engineering with a minor in Physics and a certificate in Computational Science, was selected, with 7 other students from all over the country, for a NASA Aeronautics Spring 2015 Academy at the Langley Research Center (LaRC) in Hampton, Virginia for a 16 week interdisciplinary program. 

Tuesday, December 9, 2014 (All day)

The MEEN 1000 Solar Car Race Champions were announced during class.  And the winners are....

1st Place:  Shuai Ju, Hanyue Jiang, Tyler Chidester and Chad Jones


2nd Place:  Michael Green, Juan Rojas and Viviana Guerrero


3rd Place:  Zachary Hair, Aaron Fisher and Christian Gilbreth

Thursday, November 20, 2014 (All day)

Dr. Nandika Anne D’Souza worked with Dallas Society of Women Engineers members Jennifer Vilbig of Vilbig and Associates and Jennifer Blount of Jacobs- Global Buildings to develop an interactive building exhibit for the Perot Museum to highlight energy efficient structural, material and design choices that make a building sustainable. The project developed from Perot hosting   SWE Region C attendees for a tour during the 2013   conference.